Fire Risk Assessments

Typically the person who is the owner of a building or the person who has control of the premises, as the occupier, is required to carry out a Fire Risk Assessment by the Regulatory Reform (Fire Safety) Order 2005. This person or corporate ownership is referred to as the 'Responsible Person'.


It is easy to think of a Fire Risk Assessment as a tick-box exercise, however it isn't. To assess the risk is the start, then various actions and measures will need to be implemented. There are 5 key steps to a basic Fire Risk Assessment:

  • Assess Fire Hazards

  • Assess People at Risk

  • Evaluate and act

  • Record, plan and train

  • Review


A fire risk assessment for a complex building will investigate everything related to it especially anything that can burn, any source of ignition, fire alarm and extinguishers, risers and sprinklers, escape routes, safety signage, emergency lighting, fire doors, fire dampers and ducting, fire compartmentation, people at risk, dangerous substances, fire safety training, fire evacuation plans and related housekeeping.


There are lots of common questions about Fire Risk Assessments such as:

  1. What is a Type 4 Fire Risk Assessment?

  2. Does my building need a Fire Risk Assessment?

  3. How often does the law say it should be done?

  4. How am I supposed to know whether I should do it myself or whether I should appoint a competent person?

  5. What are Fire Risk Assessment Types 1, 2, 3 and 4 all about?

C2A Banner.png

What's your question? Submit it here.


Please visit our Useful Links for additional guidance and information.